Issue 67, Winter 2009

Issue 67, Winter 2009

The Arkansas Music Issue

“So many intensely talented musicians have sprung from Arkansas soil that they can seem numberless. So many. Too many?” — Editor’s Note

Featuring the music of Barbara Lynn, Bukka White, Linda Martell, Gil Scott-Heron, Olen Bingham, Si Khan, “Bongo Joe,” Feufollet, and more.

Contributors include Walton Muyumba, Sheila Heti, Jamie Quatro, Betsy Shepherd, Will Clarke, Susannah Felts, Beth Ann Fennelly, Anne Gisleson and others.

Buy the issue.

Departments & Columns

Editor’s Box
by Marc Smirnoff

South Toward Home
by Warwick Sabin

Dealer’s Choice
by Hal Crowther

I Don’t Hate It!
by Jack Pendarvis

After the Storm
by Anne Gisleson

by Christa Smith Anderson


by Jeff Fallis

by Doug Van Gundy

by R.T. Smith

by Greg Brownderville

CD 1: Southern Masters

Barbara Lynn
by Bill Friskics-Warren

The Jubilee Humming Birds
by Bruce Eaton

Linda Martell
by Alice Randall

Sonny Burgess
by Derek Jenkins

Bukka White
by Ed Ward
by Wright Thompson

Fern Jones
by Steve Klinge

Memphis Slim & His Orchestra
by Matthew Duersten
by RJ Wheaton

Si Khan
by Charlie Bertsch

Andre Williams
by Alex V. Cook

“Mississippi” Charles Bevel
by Nick Rombes

Caroline Herring 
by Beth Ann Fennelly
by Susannah Felts

Olen Bingham
by Lindsay Moore

Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson
by Diane Roberts
by Arthur Rickydoc Flowers
by Makkada Selah

Henry Flynt & the Insurrections
by John Cline

The Feminine Complex
by Kim Cooper

Paul Burch & the WPA Ballclub
by Barry Mazor

Jeanette (Baby) Washington
by Richie Unterberger

by Barry Jean Ancelet

George “Bongo Joe” Coleman
by Joe Nick Patoski
by Matthew Pitt

The Windbreakers
by Will Clarke

Wiley & the Checkmates
by Alison Fenterstock

Little Bob & the Lollipops
by Herman Fuselier

Marie “Queenie” Lyons
by Keith Pandolfi

Kelly Hogan & the Pine Valley Cosmonauts
by Mark Winegardner

Abner Jay
by Williams Bowers
by Brian James Barr

CD 2: Arkansas Masters

Bobby Brown & the Curios
by Larry Donn

Maxine Brown
by Michaelangelo Matos

Frank Frost
by Roy Kasten

The Esquires
by Justin Taylor

Kenni Huskey
by Natalie Elliott

Sister Ernestine Washington
by Mike McGonigal

Larry Donn
by Marc Smirnoff

Johnny & Dolores
by Betsy Shepherd

Wayne Raney
by Rod Bryan

Little Beaver
by Sam Eifling

Carolina Cotton
by Skip Horack

Sleepy LaBeef
by Joe R. Lansdale

True Gospel Wymics
by Greg Bottoms

Wayne Jackson
by Stephen Koch

Linda Brannon
by Dolores Alfieri

American Princes
by Charles Petersen

Andy Starr
by A. Ferrel James

William Grant Still
by Erin Aubry Kaplan

Suga City
by Lindsey Millar

Claudia Whitten
by Sheila Heti
by Lincoln Michel

Billy Lee Riley & the Little Green Men
by Allen Lowe

The Gunbunnies
by Jamie Quatro

Larry Davis
by Jim O’Neal

Oliver Lake Organ Trio
by Walton Muyumba

Jim Mize
by Lindsey Millar

Amina Claudine Myers
by Carol Ann Fitzgerald

Chris Denny
by Graeme Thomson

Cover: Doug Smith of the John Overton High School Marching Band, Nashville, 2004.
Photograph by Greg Miller